Fan News

Comic Book Binge: Mark Waid's Flash is Perfect For Fans of the Show

Comic Book Binge: Mark Waid's Flash is Perfect For...

By Joshua Lapin-Bertone Friday, April 16th, 2021

Do you love binging TV and marathoning movies? Did you know they’re not the only bingeable things out there? In this recurring column, we round up some of the best comic book binges and explain why they’re worth your time.

Are you a fan of TV's The Flash and wondering how to get your Speed Force fix now that the show’s on hiatus? That’s easy if you’re a member of DC UNIVERSE INIFINITE. The digital service has enough Flash comics to make up more than fifty TV seasons! But where to begin? That’s simple. If you’re a Flash television fan who's always wanted to check out the comics, then you’re going to love writer Mark Waid’s legendary run on the book. The story begins in 1992’s The Flash #62 and continues through 2000’s The Flash #159. Or, if you prefer your comics in print, the entire thing has been collected in a series of extra-sized graphic novels.
 

The Premise

Barry Allen is dead (how’s that for an opener?), and it’s up to his former sidekick Wally West to continue his heroic legacy. Wally was once Kid Flash, but he’s no longer a kid and carrying on for his uncle’s legacy isn’t easy. The new Flash soon learns about the Speed Force (this is the storyline that introduced it!), a power supply that he and his predecessors have been drawing their energy from. This revelation changes everything, but it’s not the only thing on his plate. Wally deals with time-traveling relatives, a Barry Allen imposter, an evil ex-girlfriend, along with loads of other problems. It’s a good thing he’s the Fastest Man Alive!
 

Reasons to Binge

* If you’re a young adult struggling with imposter syndrome, then you’ll never find a title more relatable. Wally West is a twentysomething struggling with anxiety about living up to Barry Allen’s legacy.

* Some of the greatest artists in the medium join Waid for this run, like Humberto Ramos, Greg LaRocque and Oscar Jimenez. We especially recommend checking out The Flash #80, which is the beginning of Mike Wieringo’s tenure as artist. The Waid/Wieringo team earned much critical acclaim in the 1990s as one of the most famous creative duos in comics.

* Did you fall in love with Bart Allen while watching Young Justice? Readers were introduced to Bart for the first time in The Flash #91-93, and it’s not hard to see why he became so popular. Waid’s introduction laid the groundwork that everyone has been building on ever since.

* Like any good character spinoff, Wally is frequently visited by friends from his old series. Nightwing and Starfire stop by in The Flash #81-83, leading to a fun Teen Titans reunion, and reminding readers why Dick Grayson and Wally West have one of comics’ best bromances.
 

Why it’s Worth Putting Down the Remote

Mark Waid’s The Flash combines multiple genres to tell a story about family, legacy, redemption and adventure. Nothing is off limits, as major changes are made to Flash lore. Waid’s voice for Wally is distinct and the character grows as the series progresses. Flash begins the run trying to define his relationship with Linda, and by the end they’re married and ready to start a family. You’ll enjoy seeing the Flash evolve, and Wally will feel like an old friend by the time you’re finished reading.


The Flash by Mark Waid is available on DC UNIVERSE INFINITE as well as your favorite comic shop or digital retailer. Not a DC UNIVERSE MEMBER? Click here to subscribe today!